RCD Mallorca finalist in the last Cup Winners Cup history

RCD Mallorca finalist in the last Cup Winners Cup history
Dani celebrates the goal scored in the Cup Winners Cup final against Lazio (Photo: scoopnest

Last update August 2, 2023 by colgadosporelfutbol

The RCD Mallorca He lived a golden age in the late years 90. Specific, In the season 1998-1999, The group led by Argentina Hector Cuper He was able to reach the end of Recopa of Europe who lived the last edition in its history.

Vermilion rival in that final was the Lazio of Sven-Goran Eriksson. The whole Roman had a formidable team with players like Mihajlovic, in this, Nedved, Almeyda, Mancini, Vieri and Marcelo Salas. Almost nothing.

Meanwhile, the RCD Mallorca reached final players with a base composed of Argentine goalkeeper Carlos Roa, Siviero, Marcelino, Ibagaza, Stankovic, Lauren, Dani Garcia and Leo Biagini among others. Quality does not hurt either of course.

The path of the Balearic set up to that end was not easy and was agonizing moments. In the knockout the opponent was the Hearts Scottish. In the first leg on British soil it was the result 0-1 For the spanish people. Mallorca The meeting ended with a tie. He also suffered in the second round against Racing Genk. The 1-1 in Belgium and 0-0 Mallorca allowed the Balearic classified thanks to the double value of away goals marker.

The last Cup Winners' Cup final in history

It was in the quarter finals when the team Cúper He began to believe it and to realize that you could do something big in that competition. The opponent was the Varteks Croatian. After the goalless draw in the entire Balkan lands should be decided at home where RCD Mallorca He won by a forceful 3-1. Vermilion was set in the semifinals and the opponent would be Chelsea, champion of the competition. something historic.

In the first leg in England Spaniards they got a good result (1-1) thanks to a goal Dani. On lap disputed in the Lluis Sitjar, They imposed by local 1-0 thanks to a goal scored by Leo Biagini after a great center Stankovic. The RCD Mallorca He made history and seeped into their first European final.

Lazio, the last Cup Winners' Cup champion team

As we said at the beginning of the article, that Lazio It was very powerful. The Italians managed the 1-0 very beginning of the match thanks to a goal Cristian Vieri to the 6 minutes of play. He tied soon Mallorca by mediation Dani in 11′. The score was tied until the absence of 10 minutes remaining, Czech Nedved made the 2-1 for your computer. Thus, the Romans succeeded the first European title in its history (that same year also would win European Super Cup). And also go down in history as last Cup Winners' Cup champion.



Javier Argudo

PC Football changed my life.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!