The Copas del Rey won by Valencia CF

The Copas del Rey won by Valencia CF
Piojo López with one of the Copa del Rey won by Valencia (Photo: valenciacf)

In this article we will review all the Copas del Rey won by Valencia CF. Set that It is one of the teams that has won the most cup titles in Spanish football..

How many Copas del Rey does Valencia CF have?

The Valencia CF is one of the greats of Spain. Not in vain, the Valencians occupy the 4th position in the historical league standings. Of course, It has also been a ‘cupbearer’ team’ along the history.

The first of the Copa del Rey won by Valencia Was in the year 1941. At that time, the tournament was called the Copa del Generalissimo. The black and whites beat RCD Espanyol in the final by a score of 3-1. that same decade, specifically in the year 1949, the Valencians added their second title. This time, his victim was Athletic Club, who lost for 1-0.

The third of the Valencia Cups didn't have to wait too long. arrived in the year 1954 and the Valencianists clearly beat FC Barcelona in the final by 3 goals 0.

They had to pass 13 years for the Valencia CF won his fourth cup title. Again, Athletic Club, a tournament classic, was the team defeated by the black and white by a tight score of 2-1.

One of the finals most remembered by Valencianism was the 1979. The Valencia of Kempes, with the mythical flag, He won by 2 goals 0 to Real Madrid at the Vicente Calderón. Precisely the Argentine striker was in charge of scoring both goals.

Copa del Rey 1979
Formation of Valencia with the legendary Senyera in the final of 1979 (Pinterest)

Fans dear they had to wait 20 years to return to celebrate a new title of Copa del Rey. In 1999, the Valencia of Mendieta and Piojo López, among others, achieved an anthological victory in La Cartuja against Atletico Madrid. Always in the memory that mythical goal of the Valencian captain, Gaizka Mendieta, with 'little hat’ included.

In 2008, It was Getafe that succumbed to the Valencians. Valencia, again at the Vicente Calderón, got a clear victory for 3-1, with many of Mata, Alexis Ruano and Fernando Morientes.

The eighth arrived on a very special date. In 2019, year of centenary of the club, Valencia lifted the trophy in a final against FC Barcelona in, among others, Leo Messi. Kevin Gameiro and Rodrigo Moreno scored the goals in a game that ended 1-2.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!