Teams that won the Spanish Cup and maybe you don't remember

Teams that won the Spanish Cup and maybe you don't remember
Arenas Club defeated FC Barcelona in the final of 1919 (Twitter: Arenas Club)

Last update February 15, 2021 by Javier Argudo

The Spain Cup it is one of the oldest championships in our football. Throughout history it has received various names depending on the historical context in which the country was located (Cup of the President of the Republic, Copa del Generalissimo or Copa del Rey). Today we will review the teams that were able to win this important title and that, maybe, many people do not remember because they are not the ones who usually take the glory regularly.


The Arenas Club It is quite a history of Spanish football. The Biscayan club, founded in 1909, He was one of the 10 founding clubs of National League Championship in 1929. He was a member of the First Division during 7 seasons consecutively and no longer managed to return.

His great success was the Spain Cup won in 1919. The Basque group prevailed over FC Barcelona in the end disputed 18 May 1919 in Madrid. Unfortunately for Arenas, the original trophy was lost in a fire in the Civil War. Luis Rubiales, president of the RFEF, He delivered a replica of it to the club when a century of this great feat was completed.

Arenas Club de Getxo
Image of the final of the Spanish Cup played in 1919 (ABC)


Another important club that deserves a mention in this article. Founded in 1915, the Real Union Irun, although it may surprise many, has neither more nor less than 4 Cups of Spain. Like its Getxo neighbors, He comprised of the 10 founding teams of the Spanish First Division and lived its golden age in the decade of 1910 Y 1920.

In this period of time he got his four cupboard titles: 1913 (still like Racing de Irún), 1918, 1924 Y 1927. As a curious fact to say that he only accumulates four seasons in the First Division, as many as official titles.


Much more recent is the Copa del Rey of RCD Mallorca. The vermilions were proclaimed champions in a historic final in which they had as opponent the Recreativo de Huelva in the final played at the Martínez Valero in Elche. The year 2003.

Mallorca Copa del Rey
Mallorca players celebrate the victory against Recre in 2003 (As)

further, the balearic islands were finalists on two more occasions, both in the years 90, but they were defeated. First against him Atletico Madrid in 1991 and then against him FC Barcelona in the year 1997.


Levante case deserves special mention. The granota team was champion of ‘The Cup of Free Spain’ in the year 1937. His rival in the final played in the Sarria Stadium, in Barcelona, it was Valencia and Levante won the victory by 1-0 with a goal from Nieto.

The throphy, that looks in the showcases of the club, remains unrecognized as an official title by the Real spanish soccer federation. If you want to know more about the history of this cup, click on this link.


Javier Argudo

PC Football changed my life.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!