Top scorers in World Cup history

Top scorers in World Cup history
Miroslav Klose, top scorer in World Cup history (Photo: EFE)

Last update October 30, 2019 by Javier Argudo

In football what matters is the goal. Giving the victory or defeat leads if the opponent scores. Sport sauce. That is why it is valuable to have players with a special ability to score.. Today we are going to review the 5 top scorers in World Cup history.

MIROSLAV KLOSE (16 goals, Germany)

Miroslav Klose
Miroslav Klose, top scorer in World Cup history (Photo:/AFP/Getty Images)

The first place in the ranking of top scorers is held by the German Miroslav Klose, with a total of 16. Juice 24 matches in the first four editions of the tournament in the 21st century. His debut in the competition was in Japan and with a hat-trick against Saudi Arabia. Then he continued his good streak in the premieres of the Germans in the following three competitions, since it always marked. In Korea and Japan 2002 and germany 2006 scored five goals, getting in the second case the trophy of the Golden Boot top scorer. In south africa 2010 added four, and in Brazil 2014 two more, the last in the semifinal against the hosts who Germany He won by 1-7. In the next game he managed to raise the world Cup.

RONALDO NAZÁRIO (15 goals, Brazil)

Top scorers in history
Ronaldo Nazario (Photo: Telemundo)

Ronaldo Nazario occupies the second position of the list with 15 goals in 19 matches. In France 1998, where Brazil was runner-up, framework 4 goals; and although the Croatian Suker scored two more than him, Ronaldo was so shocked that they gave him the Ballon d'Or for best player of the tournament. Four years later, in Korea and Japan 2002, pulverized that brand with a total of 8 goals, that were worth the Golden Boot top scorer. But not the Ballon d'Or that went to Oliver Kahn, the goalkeeper of Germany and to whom Ronaldo scored both goals in the final of that edition. Why Ronaldo has won two World Cups, that of 2002 and the United States 1994, since he was part of that team although he did not play any games. The 2006, in German lands, scored three more goals.

GERD MULLER (14 goals, Germany)

World Cup top scorers
Gerd Muller (Photo: Daily Mail)

Gerd Muller is synonymous with effectiveness. In two World Cups he got 14 goals in 13 meetings played, more than one goal per game. The 'Torpedo’ reached the figure of 10 goals in Mexico 1970 and as expected he got the Golden Boot. The two triplets stand out in the group stage against Bulgaria and Peru, the final goal in extra time in the quarter-finals against England, and two goals in the semifinal against Italy. But the transalpinos ended up beating the Germans in extra time by 4-3 (an exciting extra time after finishing regulation time with a draw 1). Germany took it out at home, at World 1974. Muller added less, 4 goals, but the last one was the one who gave victory to West Germany in the final against the Netherlands in munich (2-1). One of the top scorers in history.

JUST FONTAINE (13 goals, France)

Just Fontaine
Just Fontaine has a lot of merit since he achieved all his goals in a single World Cup (Photo:

An exceptional case is that of the French Just Fontaine. As we discussed, in editing Sweden 1958 got a total of 13 goals in only 6 matches. In all the matches of the championship he scored, but in the semifinal against the Brazilians France fell defeated (5-2, one of them from Fontaine). In the fight for third place, the forward pulled out his thorn with four goals to Germany in a duel that ended 6-3 in favor of the Gauls.

SKIN (12 goals, Brazil)

World Cup top scorers
Skin, one of the best players of all time (Photo: The Telegraph)

Perhaps many are surprised that Edson Arantes do Nascimento Don't be higher in this World Cup scorers' ranking. In the final four phases he played, he added 12 goals. yes, his performances were highlighted in two of the three trophies that the World Cup won by Brazil. Especially in his debut, in Sweden 1958, when he only had 17 years and scored six goals.

The first was the only one in the quarter-finals against Wales; in the semifinal against the France of Fontaine got a hat-trick, and added two more in the final against the Swedish hosts that Verdeamarelha won by 5-2. Brazil also won the Cup in Chile 1962, but Pelé had physical problems and only scored one goal in two games.

In England 1966 Brazil was eliminated in the first phase, where Pelé scored a single goal. The Brazilians remade in Mexico 1970, they won the competition and O Rei scored four goals; the last one served to inaugurate the scoreboard of the final against Italy (4-1).

Damián Sancho

Journalist, interested in science, disclosure and also in sport (yes, that union motivations possible). Follow me on twitter: @damian_sancho

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!